#GirlBoss: More Than a Book

I have recently been hooked on #GirlBoss by Sophia Amoruso. Sophia Amoruso is the chairman of NastyGal. The book is the girl’s guide to being your own #GirlBoss. She went from stealing and couch surfing to selling clothes from thrift shops online to constantly moving warehouses because her business was getting so big. She explains her life and her thinking process. She makes it clear that she does not want to be a role model for others, but instead wants others to be their own role model and create themselves to be someone they inspire to one day become.

This book is impacting me immensely so I started underlining and highlighting words that stood out to me. I started reading the book more slowly so I would be able to  mentally take in and understand what she had to say more. I feel as though I’m in a time in my life, focused on success and not letting anything stand in the way of that. I want nothing more than happiness and success for my relationship, my career and my family. Listening to her take on “guidelines” for the mindset she had to get her where she is now is inspiring and supplemental.

I recommend this to every woman out there, young or old. I recommend it for the insight, the motivation, the empowerment and the strength to become your own #GirlBoss.

Here are some of my favorite quotes so far:

Abandon anything about your life and habits that might be holding you back. Learn to create your own opportunities. Know that there is no finish line; fortune favors action.”

“Instead of sitting around and talking about how much I care, I’m going to kick ass and prove it.”

“You can’t act like you’ve arrived when you’ve only just receiving the invitation.”

“Money looks better in the bank than on your feet.”

Let me know your thoughts on this mantra #GirlBoss!! I cannot wait to finish the book and to start paving my own road to #GirlBoss success.

img_7763

Leave a Reply

